Upcoming Events

View Event Page

84th BPMGC Club Championship (P/T)


84th BPMGC Club Championship Round 1: Saturday, Jul 21
84th BPMGC Club Championship Round 2: Sunday, Jul 22
84th BPMGC Club Championship Round 3: Sunday, Jul 29
View Event Page

7/25 Individual


Wednesday, Jul 25
View Event Page

BPMGC Match Play


BPMGC Match Play Round 1: Saturday, Aug 04
BPMGC Match Play Round 2: Sunday, Aug 05
BPMGC Match Play Quarter Finals: Saturday, Aug 11
BPMGC Match Play Semi Finals: Sunday, Aug 12
BPMGC Match Play Finals: Sunday, Aug 19
View Event Page

Board Meeting


Tuesday, Aug 07
View Event Page

8/8 Individual


Wednesday, Aug 08
View Event Page

Happy Hour at King & Queen Cantina (Kettner at Beech)


Wednesday, Aug 08
View Event Page

8/22 2-man team scramble


Wednesday, Aug 22
View Event Page

Sr. Club Championship


Sr. Club Championship Round 1: Tuesday, Sep 04
Sr. Club Championship Round 2: Wednesday, Sep 05
View Event Page

Individual

Annually Shadowridge donates a Certificate for 4 to play at their CC which we raffle off at our Annual Dinner.

We reciprocate with an Away Individual event played to then current handicaps (as all our Away competitions are).

Guests welcome.


Monday, Sep 17
View Event Page

Are you the HERO, or are you the BUM ?


Sunday, Sep 23
View Event Page

9/26 Individual - toss three


Wednesday, Sep 26
View Event Page

Happy Hour at TBD


Wednesday, Sep 26
View Event Page

Board Meeting


Tuesday, Oct 02
View Event Page

The FALL CLASSIC Individual


Saturday, Oct 06
View Event Page

10/10 Individual


Wednesday, Oct 10
View Event Page

Happy Hour at TBD


Wednesday, Oct 10
View Event Page

10/24 4 man Team Better 2 of 4


Wednesday, Oct 24
View Event Page

2-man Eclectic Championship


2-man Eclectic Championship Day 1: Saturday, Oct 27
2-man Eclectic Championship Day 2: Sunday, Oct 28
View Event Page

Board Meeting


Tuesday, Nov 06
View Event Page

11/7 Individual


Wednesday, Nov 07
View Event Page

Annual Dick Hanson Memorial


Sunday, Nov 11
View Event Page

11/14 2-man team scramble


Wednesday, Nov 14
View Event Page

Happy Hour at TBD


Wednesday, Nov 14
View Event Page

Last Chance Bromance Stableford 2-man


Sunday, Dec 02
View Event Page

Board Meeting


Tuesday, Dec 04
View Event Page

12/5 Event Winners & Wanna B’s Individual


Wednesday, Dec 05
View Event Page

Weekend Tournament of Champions

This event is Weekend Winners ONLY

I am the only one who can sign you up for this event.  I will sign up the winners after each of the weekend events.  Do NOT remove yourself from this event.  If you can't play, lets make that determination, together, much closer to the event date.


Sunday, Dec 09
View Event Page

12/12 Individual


Wednesday, Dec 12
View Event Page

Happy Hour at TBD


Wednesday, Dec 12

Recent Events

View Event Page

7/11 Firecracker 4 man Results (and a bit of background)

A midsummer’s day celebration of the 4th of July brought out 76 players: 19 teams, divided into 2 flights.

A couple of players voiced their opinion that it was not a competitive event with the discounts to the handicaps (which is why there were multiple flights and a player could expect to contirbute to 55% of his team's scores), even more others expressed there view that this was one of the best events of the year! (Fireworks! Sparklers! Whoosh!!!)

Each 1st Place teammate (in each Flight) won $50; Second: $40; Third, $30 and Fourth, $25.

The teams who ultimately had the lowest Red Tee scores were among the top finishers! Surprise, surprise!! (So, if your team didn’t do well, start looking at your Red tees results!)

  Flight 1:

The 4th lowest handicap team in the flight took 1st Place with a Net 134: John Hoffman, Gale Van Nostern, Steve Klein and Peter Berk did, in fact, ham-and-egg their way to the top. 8 of their 20 scores from the Whites were tied for lowest by their teammates! (GVN tied for the Lowest Net score in the event from the Red tees at -3! Congratulations!)

A shot behind at 135 was the team of Tom Woliver, Larry Barron, Hedges Capers and Bill Guetz. Look at the Red Tees for the explanation!

Yet another shot behind at 136 were Curt Gammage, Joey Busalacchi, Dave Struwe and Mike McHugh. 

And still 1 more shot behind at 137 were Dennis Gjertson, Don Ericson John Thomas, and Jim Alford. Red tees, hello!!

  Flight 2:

Top of the heap were Glenn Crouch, Derek Evans, Kirk Crosswhite and Dana Levy at Net 134!!!

7 strokes behind at 141 were Darlo Clemens, Ray Prazen, Mike Sheppard and Manuel Alsina.

3rd, 3 strokes back at 144 were Dane Clingan, Bruce Rickard, Art Wells and Glenn Rose who REALLY ham-and-egged it with only 3 of their white scores were from multiple players having the same low scores! 17 of the 12 non-red scores were stand-alones! Wow! Particular shout-out goes to Manuel Alsina who shot 1 over Net par on his 4 Red tee holes

A single shot separated them from third at 145, 4th were Rob DeLacy, Frank Caso, Doug Hatfield and Barry O’Malley. TAKE SPECIAL NOTE: Frank Caso was the Red Tee man and did NOT succumb to the pressure of Hole 7, scoring a GROSS EAGLE 3, NET ALBATROSS 2 (TWO, that’s right), SUPERB!

It should be noted that Bill Miller was 3 under on his Red Tee holes.

And that John Diehl and Brian Lynn had  Gross 2, Net 1 on the 6th hole.

Well done, fellas.

Hope I didn’t overlook any spectacular results. Tell me if I did and I’ll send an addendum! 

With note of some pretty good results above, the booby prizes go to …..drum roll…..

  NOPE, not going there…

On to the CTP Competition:

Each Standard CTP Hole winner received $45 with $5 going to the kitty.

Each of the 3 Senior winners also won $45 with the kitty getting $25. 

            Standard                            Senior

Hole 6. Brian Lynn                            ---

Hole 9. Larry Chvatal                     Dana Levy

Hole 13. Steve Klein (See below)   Bob Gentles

Hole 17. Hedges Capers                 Peter Berk

  Note: for the 2nd time in 2 events someone (not counting our recent Sr HIO) was kick-in close on the 13th green. 

…and here is THE NOTE:

The player, Steve Klein, was at 4 inches from the hole. 

To avoid having a subsequent player get the benefit of ricocheting off the Proximity marker, I made the decision to STICK AN ORANGE TEE level with the ground at the point Steve would ordinarily have left the Proximity marker. 

BTW, this was the way we played it this year:

Both the Red Tee player’s score and the Better Net Ball of the White Tee players were the scores for the first 16 holes.

ALL PLAYERS USED the White Tees on the 17th and 18th holes; better 2 Net scores were the results for those holes.

There were 2 Flights. ALL PLAYERS were playing to 60% of their 3 month low handicaps. The highest handicap players were playing the 1st hole from the Red Tees, and every 4th hole thereafter.


Wednesday, Jul 11
View Event Page

Happy Hour at Barbusa (Little Italy)


Wednesday, Jul 11
View Event Page

Board Meeting


Tuesday, Jul 03
View Event Page

The GEEZE and ME 2-man team


Sunday, Jul 01
View Event Page

6/27 2 man Team - Best Ball


Wednesday, Jun 27
View Event Page

Happy Hour at outdoor venue: Sorrento

Great setting, under a canopy on India Street a half block from the newly opened Piazza della Famiglia. 

 


Wednesday, Jun 27
View Event Page

Boys of Summer


Sunday, Jun 24
View Event Page

6/13 Individual


Wednesday, Jun 13
View Event Page

Individual

Away event - first 40 paid attendees IF PAID BY 5/26 (this should have been 5/23; consider yourselves lucky for the extra 3 days) will receive a bonus payout upon placing in the money in a Flight! Guests are welcome.

NOTE: this is a WEDNESDAY event, a week before our initial at-Balboa June event and a week after our 5/23 2 Man BB at home.


Wednesday, Jun 06
View Event Page

Board Meeting


Tuesday, Jun 05
View Event Page

SCGA 2-man Qualifying (P/T)


Sunday, Jun 03
View Event Page

5/23 2 man Team - Best Ball

Teammates play their own ball throughout and the lower NET score between them on each hole counts as the team score. This is NOT a scramble

All H/C's have been adjusted DOWN 10% as recommended by the SCGA for a 2 man Better Ball format; PLUS an additional 10% for those teams whose partners have greater than an 8 stroke difference, also as recommended by the SCGA.

Max score per hole: 12 strokes.

Play it down. 

Remember: if you do not keep up with the pairing in front of you you run the risk of having eah player penalized by 2 strokes.

 


Wednesday, May 23
View Event Page

5/14 Away @ Twin Oaks


Monday, May 14
View Event Page

Keep your Better Half 2 par 3’s/5 par 4’s/2 par 5’s


Saturday, May 12
View Event Page

5/9 Individual


Wednesday, May 09
View Event Page

Happy Hour at Queenstown (Little Italy)


Wednesday, May 09
View Event Page

Board Meeting


Tuesday, May 01
View Event Page

2-man team alternate shot

Rules:

  • ALL PLAYERS/TEAMS PLAYING FROM THE WHITE TEES..
  • One ball is played per hole (unless a ball is lost and then 1 ball replaces it and is played until holed out. 
  • One player tees off; his partner hits the 2nd shot. Original teeing partner hits the 3rd and so forth, that is, alternate.
  • One ball is played; one score will be the recorded per hole.
  • Decide in advance who will be teeing off on the First hole: 
  • That Player will Tee off on odd holes (1, 3, 5, 7, ….); his partner will Tee off on Even holes (2, 4, 6, 8,…). No player is to tee off on consecutive holes.
  • Player Teeing off will decide on which ball to play on that hole (his or his partner’s). DO NOT SWITCH BALLS IN THE MIDDLE OF A HOLE. (If you have a lost ball on a hole, the player who teed off should replace his ball with another of the same kind.)
  • The player with the lower hc will get 60% of his hc strokes added to 40% of the hc of the higher hc player. This will determine the Team HC.
  • Play the ball down.
  • Play ready golf.

Wednesday, Apr 25
View Event Page

Earth Day Invitational


Sunday, Apr 22
View Event Page

4/11 Individual


Wednesday, Apr 11
View Event Page

Happy Hour at Barrio Star (5th Ave)


Wednesday, Apr 11
View Event Page

Board Meeting


Tuesday, Apr 03
View Event Page

3/21 4-man team ABCD - Blind Draw

The course is being punched on 3/28. I was just advised of this. The date of the event is moved up a week...


Wednesday, Mar 21
View Event Page

3/19 Away @ Lomas Santa Fe CC


Monday, Mar 19
View Event Page

Presidents Cup


Presidents Cup Day 1: Sunday, Mar 18
Presidents Cup Day 2: Sunday, Mar 25
View Event Page

3/14 Individual


Wednesday, Mar 14
View Event Page

Happy Hour at Carnitas Snack Shack (Embarcadero)


Wednesday, Mar 14
View Event Page

Board Meeting


Tuesday, Mar 06
View Event Page

March Madness Conquistador Classic


Sunday, Mar 04
View Event Page

3 clubs & a putter


Wednesday, Feb 28
View Event Page

Happy Hour at Nonna

PLEASE NOTE: the 14th is Valentine's Day so we've chnged the date to the SECOND Wednesday event which is 2/28.

Repeat: the 28th not the 14th....

Got it?


Wednesday, Feb 28
View Event Page

2/14 Individual

hello


Wednesday, Feb 14
View Event Page

Humpty Dumpty Memorial Scramble (NP)

Welcome Back to 2018!

New year-new rules.  If you are 62 or older and have a 16 handicap or higher, you are playing from the Whites.  Regardless of age, if your handicap is 16 or above, you are playing the Whites.  If you are 62, and your handicap is between 10 and 16, you can play the whites, just let me know.  

For this event, it would be helpful if you and your partner played the same tees.  So, choose wisely, or just enter, and I'll choose a partner for you.


Sunday, Feb 11
View Event Page

Board Meeting


Tuesday, Feb 06
View Event Page

Super-Skins

This occasionally annual event is put together by our own Gary Matthews, and is an unofficial event.  A lot of good players going off in a shotgun in morning before the Superbowl in a giant skins game.  Stay tuned to see if it is going to happen, but I will say this.  The more people that sign up early, the better the likelyhood that it could happen.


Sunday, Feb 04
View Event Page

1/24 2-man Pinehurst


Wednesday, Jan 24
View Event Page

Annual Dinner

WHERE: The Old Spaghetti Factory in the Gaslamp area

When: Tuesday, 1/16

  • No-host bar from 5 pm.
  • Brief Meeting to elect the new Board and other high profile matters
  • Dinner: 6 pm

Menu (and some of you haven't old me yet what you want):

  • Salad with balsamic vinaigrette dressing
  • Choices of entrees
  •      Meat Lover’s Treat: Sicilian Meatballs, Italian Sausage and Spaghetti with rich meat sauce. 
  •      Baked Lasagna
  •      Chicken Marsala
  • Gluten-Free pasta available.
  • If you’re Vegan/vegetarian, we’ll order for you separately, but I need to know in advance.
  • Vanilla ice cream for dessert.

Drawings for 

  •    At least 3 Gift Certificates for 4-somes from several of our Away golf courses,  
  •    About 30 Gift Certificates from several Happy Hour restaurants
  •    the ReadeRest eye glass clips (that you may have seen me wear on my shirt (as seen on Shark Tank)) along with a special one-time discount to buy from the company, and
  •    that crowd favorite: over $1,000 in CA$H, from the night’s drawings AND as set aside by Treasurer Larry Chvatal!

WE’RE RESTRICTED TO 100 ATTENDEES ..so those registering AND PAYING will be guaranteed to be admitted (and fed)! There is room for about a dozen more....

  •     You can make a check out to me and 
  •         (a) hand it to me at 1/10 course events,
  •         (b) leave it for me in the pro shop in an envelope, or
  •         (c) pay me on-line at
  •             Venmo: @Peter-Berk
  •                 or
  •             Squarecash: $berkabee1

Cost 

  • UNTIL 1/10/18 (first Weds event of the year): $40 
  • After 1/10/18, while it is unlikely any late comers will be accepted, cost will be $50.

DON’T FORGET: When entering, I need to know what your entree orders(or special dietary restrictions) are. Easiest approach is to ORDER when SIGNING ON!! Don’t leave it to chance that you’ll remember later..after all, Charlie (Chance) has been really busy lately.

See (a hundred of) you January 16th.


Tuesday, Jan 16
View Event Page

Team Play


Team Play: Saturday, Jan 13
Team Play: Saturday, Jan 20
Team Play: Saturday, Jan 27
Team Play: Saturday, Feb 03
Team Play: Saturday, Feb 10
Team Play: Saturday, Feb 17
Team Play round of 32: Saturday, Mar 17
Team Play round of 16: Saturday, Mar 24
Team Play Quarter Finals: Saturday, Mar 31
Team Play Semi Finals: Saturday, Apr 07
View Event Page

1/10 Individual


Wednesday, Jan 10